Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS is a stage of children’s development from birth to the end of their first (reception) year in school.

The EYFS Framework describes how early years practitioners work with children and their families to support their development and learning.

It describes how your child should be cared for and how all concerned can make sure that your child achieves the most that they can in their early years of life.

It is based on four basic principles. The principles underpin all that practitioners are required to do.

The Unique Child.

Principle: Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient , capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships.

Principle: Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments.

Principle: The environment plays a key role in supporting and   extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development.

Principle: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

The Seven Areas of Learning

Early years learning concentrates on 7 areas split between prime and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

School Uniform

Please use the  link below to order uniform online. 

Click for full details

Dear Parents/Carers, Please find attached the Nicholas Postgate Catholic Academy Trust Newsletter f...

Dear Parents/Carers,Please find attached an important letter regarding the car park. Kind Rega...

Newsletter 19/12/18

19th Dec 2018

Dear Parents/ Carers, As we approach the end of term and near the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ on...